SAY WHAT YOU WANT – Barenaked Ladies COVER

After the success of my cover of Odds Are (another of my favourite Barenaked Ladies songs) I thought it would be a good idea to release my own take of a another of the band’s songs.

As I’ve said before, Barenaked Ladies are one of my favourite bands and for me it’s mainly because of their unique and carefree outlook on life. Barenaked Ladies songs always put me in a good mood so I hope this cover put you in a good mood too!

The sentiment of “Say what you want, cos’ I can’t hear you anyway” is something I think we could all do with every so often. As humans living a day to day life we inevitably come across things or people who get under our skin. Our natural tendency is to try and fix things, to put it right or at the very least get whatever it is bothering us to stop.

The problem is, most of the time, when we start giving that “thing” attention we end up making the situation worse for ourselves – now it’s known that this issue is something that bothers us. I could write a whole blog post or film a vlog on this topic but that’s for another day.

The simple answer is to just walk away and not let it bother you. It’s not worth you time or effort to worry about something like this. Of course if your issue is a super villain who is threatening the world with some sort of hyper weapon then maybe don’t just walk away and ignore that – but for the smaller day to day problems it’s easier to just stop listening and get on with living your life.

That’s what this song captures for me. On first impressions Barenaked Ladies may seem like a fun almost comical band but their songs often carry powerful messages within their fun lyrics and upbeat tunes. Say What You Want has similar message to that of Odds Are which is: everything will probably be fine.

Don’t forget to Subscribe to my channel and leave a comment if you have an idea for another song you’d like me to cover.

Leave a Reply

