VIVA LA VIDA – Keyboard Loop Pedal

 

Well I hadn’t made a Coldplay cover in a few weeks so I figured I had to do something about that. But this time I wanted to do something different!

Loop pedals are all the rage at the moment (probably something to do with Ed Sheeran) but I only ever really see people using them with acoustic guitars (again… probably something to do with Ed Sheeran).

It occurred to me though, that the loop pedal would be ideal for using with a keyboard. Think about it, keyboards have a huge range of sounds they can make which can be nicely layered up using a loop pedal. I had a BOSS RC-30 lying around which I’d never really used to it’s full potential and I have no shortage of keyboards either. All that was left was to find a popular song that was fairly repetitive.

The song that immediately came to mind was Viva La Vida by Coldplay. It was perfect, I could use the keyboard and the loop pedal to layer up loads of strings on top of each other. What you see in the video above was recorded in one take – though admittedly it took me quite a few takes to get it right. If I seem a little less engaged in this video it’s because I’m having to think three steps ahead of what keyboard patch to switch to, when to trigger the loop pedal and also trying to remember the correct lyrics on top of that!

This cover is a little different but I really do hope you enjoy it. Let me know if you’d like to see more loop pedal covers like this in the future and if you have any suggestions feel free to let me know on Twitter.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

