Something Just Like This – The Chainsmokers & Coldplay COVER

Hi everyone, it’s that time of the week again when I release a brand new cover for your eyes and ears. This week it’s the new hit Something Just Like This, a joint effort between The Chainsmokers and Coldplay.

Over the years I’ve released many covers on my YouTube channel and no band has been featured more than Coldplay. In fact my most popular video is a cover of their song Paradise which stands at over 40, 000 views while I’ve also done an acoustic version of Lost, a magical cover of Magic and my ukulele infused version of Adventure Of A Lifetime from their latest album. So when I saw their performance with The Chainsmokers recently at The BRIT Awards I immediately wanted to try recording a cover of it.

This video was a lot of fun to put together as I tried a lot of things I don’t normally do. I doubled up the synths in the chorus with big rock guitars and I recorded my Korg SV1 directly into the mixer for the electric piano sounds while going through a tremolo effect. While recording I even had a moment of improvisation during the verses on piano which sounded so nice in my opinion that I kept it in the final version.

To me this is was making videos for YouTube should be all about. While you still have to think about your audience and make videos they want to see, at the end of the day it must always be fun for the creator. I’ll admit that when I started up this weekly release schedule on YouTube, I was worried that I would end up loosing my enthusiasm and that releasing a new video every week would become a chore.

The most certainly wasn’t the case with this week’s video (or the video I’m releasing next week for a matter of fact – but more on that later). I hope you enjoy watching this Coldplay cover as much as I enjoyed making it. Don’t forget there’s plenty of other Cool Coldplay Covers on my channel which you can check out in this handy playlist below.

Have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

