Writing’s On The Wall – Sam Smith COVER – New Bond Song!

The name’s Riley… Josef Pitura-Riley. Ok, so it doesn’t have quite the same ring to it but as Sam Smith has just released his new Bond song, ‘Writing’s On The Wall’ from the upcoming film Spectre, I figured I’d have a crack at recording a cover.

This song was particularly challenging because… well it’s a bond song, and that means lots brass and strings to create a big orchestral sound. Rather than just try and record a simple piano and vocal cover (because that would be far to easy for me!) I’ve tried to recreate the full orchestration as much as possible which means both my Flugelhorn and Trombone make a reappearance in this video!

This video was certainly was a challenge given how complex the arrangement is but I hope you enjoy it all the same.
I’ll be posting another blog early next week with an update on how the recording for the Regeneration EP is going and some exciting stuff that you can look forward too so keep your eyes open for that. Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Facebook to stay in the loop and if you want the juicy gossip first then make sure you subscribe to my Mailing List.
Leave a Reply

