A General Update

Image

The time has come, it seems, for me to explain a few things. I’ve been a bit absent recently and why I hardly think you’re hanging on my every word I don’t want to leave you completely in the dark. In previous blog posts and on Twitter I’m always talking about things that are ‘Coming Soon’ and stuff that I’m still waiting to announce, so today here’s a general update explaining what I’m up to and why I seem to always be so busy when there’s very little new content appearing.

Firstly I will say that I’m still auditioning for shows, just because I’m not performing at the moment that doesn’t mean that I’m not looking for work. There is a huge amount of competition for actors and I was incredibly lucky to do three shows pretty much back to back over the last two and a half years. It’s been nice to have a bit of a break but I’m always on the hunt for auditions and when they do come in, everything else gets put to the side.

Next I feel like I should talk about films. Some of you may know that I run my own production company, Dulwich Studios, which is the result of a childhood hobby getting wildly out of hand. It started out as me making films in my garden with a few friends and I have since gone on to make a number of short films and web series. The last time I shot a film was back in 2010 when I wrote, directed and appeared in a web series called Stars Of The Future which was based off a concept Alex James Ellison and myself created while studying at The BRIT School. Since the last few years of my life have been spent touring round the country I haven’t been able to film much other than the short cover videos you’ll see on my YouTube channel and a few music videos that I’ve directed for friends.

If you follow me on Twitter you may have seen me mentioning a film script that I’ve been working on over the last few months. Yes, I am planning to make another film and the script for it is very nearly done. It’s just needs a few finishing touches and then I’ll be pitching it to producers to get some help with actually making it. In the past I’ve produced my films myself, but to be honest I hate all the organisation that putting a film together requires. Luckily I know some people who love that side of things and so if all goes well I’ll be able to get a dedicated Producer to keep everything running while I focus on Directing the film.

It’s difficult to say when the film will be released since it’s still in very early stages at the moment but I’d like to start filming towards the end of the Summer. That way I can edit throughout the Winter with a view to releasing it in Spring 2015 but it all depends on how quickly things can be put together.

Finally lets talk about Music. I released my debut EP ‘A New View’ in the summer of 2011 and I started work on a 2nd EP not long afterwards. For the last two years I’ve been talking about the fact that my next EP is coming or that I’m working on new songs and yet it still hasn’t appeared yet. Last year while I was touring with “Save The Last Dance For Me” I said that I wanted the EP to be out by the end of that year… obviously that didn’t happen. So if I began writing EP number 2 so soon after I released A New View why has it not been released yet?

Work on my 2nd EP after started just after I had finished appearing in a show at The Edinburgh Fringe Festival in 2011. I got home after the run had ended and started to write brand new songs but after a couple of months I was cast in Dreamboats And Petticoats so naturally that took priority away from my own music and towards the job I was being paid to do. When I first joined the tour my plan had been to write songs while on the road, recording as much as I could on my laptop and then mixing the songs in the few weeks holiday I had. Unfortunately this just wasn’t possible. I tried to record a few songs but kept finding that they never turned out how I wanted them to. Recording in a tiny hotel room using nothing but a small MIDI keyboard and my laptop was very different from working in the studio I had built up over the last few years.

Once I finished touring with “Save The Last Dance For Me” I knew I would have more time to focus on the music and finally release the new EP. However it had been nearly two years since I started work on the project and since then music had developed and grown. Every time I opened up the project files I didn’t know where to start and I began avoiding working on the EP altogether simply because the whole thing was such a mess.

In the end I decided that the best thing to do would be to start again. I’m not going to forget those songs and leave them on the cutting room floor, the songs are great (in my opinion) and they say exactly what I want. By starting again I’m simply stripping them back to their original state and starting the recording process from scratch. This time I’m doing it my studio exactly the way I want rather than trying to fix something that wasn’t that great to begin with.

So what have I been doing most recently? Well you may have noticed that I completely overhauled my website last month which is something that desperately needed doing. I’ve also been recording lots of cover videos which I’ll be releasing gradually while I finish of the next EP. Mainly though, I’ve just finished work on something big that should be out early next month, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time and it will really mark the start of the build up to EP 2.

Naturally as soon as I started working on EP 2 my life became incredibly busy. Last week I scheduled out an entire plan for the rest of the month and then a big audition came in which I had to give all my time to. As a result I’m now wildly off target but hopefully I’ll be able to get myself back on track to hit the deadlines that I’ve set. The life of an out of work actor means that I’m technically free all of the time but could be called up a moments notice for something meaning that everything else takes a back seat.

For now the plan is to release this secret project at the end of the month and then go full steam ahead into production of EP 2 which I want to be out by the end of the Summer. I know I’ve said it far to much over the last few years but big things are coming and they might be closer than you think.

Leave a Reply

