Let’s Go Fly A Kite (Cover) – From Mary Poppins

Here’s a brand new cover for you: Let’s Go Fly A Kite from the musical Mary Poppins! Since I studied musical theatre at The BRIT School, I thought it was about time I uploaded a cover of a musical theatre song.

There’s a funny story behind this cover actually. I recorded ages ago, back when I was touring with Dreamboats And Petticoats, but due to the hectic lifestyle of a touring actor musician I completely forgot about it.

A few days ago I was going through some old files and I stumbled across this very video and it was pretty much finished. The mixing was all done and the editing had been completed. I very quickly realised that I would only had to make a few tweaks to it and it would be ready to be released.

So that’s what I did. I spent most of yesterday putting the finishing touches on it and after a year or so of sitting on the shelf… well a digital shelf I guess, it’s finally out there for everyone to view.

It’s a bit different from the original version since I don’t have an orchestra to accompany me (…yet!) but I really like the piano tinkles and the strums of the acoustic guitar. I’m looking forward to messing around with some other songs and maybe changing the styles a bit. I won’t do it for every song but there are a few I have in mind which I think it would be worth trying something different with.

Leave a Reply

