The Show Must Go On

shapeimage_1

If you follow me on Twitter you may have noticed that I mentioned we had to stop the show a few nights ago due to technical difficulties. You may also have noticed that I mentioned I had rather awkward moment onstage that night and now for some reason I’m going to share it with all of you.

It was just after the song ‘1, 2, 3’, early on in Act One when the problem arose. After the song dies down the two main characters, Curtis and Marie, have a bit of a private conversation at the front of the stage. However, as soon as the dialogue began it was clear that our Marie’s head mic had failed. One stage and in the auditorium you could hear only Curtis’ side of the conversation while Marie struggled to be heard acoustically over the band playing the underscore music in the background.

Luckily, in case of events like this there is a wireless handheld microphone hidden on the bandstand. I grabbed the emergency mic and managed to quickly pass it to Marie whilst making it look like I was on my way over to the bar.

Unfortunately as I reached the bar I could hear that the handheld mic our Marie was now using wasn’t on either! From out of nowhere another emergency mic was produced and so I quickly walked downstage with this in my hand to exchange it for the one that Marie was holding.

The first time I handed her the mic I had managed to do it quite quickly and almost in character as I looked like I was just walking to the other side of the stage. This time there was no point in hiding what I was doing. The entire audience could see that she was holding a handheld mic and they could also hear it wasn’t working, so I walked downstage with the second mic in my hand.

I got about two feet from where she was standing and was about to make the switch when the mic in her hand suddenly sprung to life and her voice echoed round the theatre! Without even stopping I spun 180 degrees on my heels and made a very hasty retreat. After a laugh from the audience (and probably most of the cast too) the show carried on.

So there you go, that’s my little embarrassing story. Not quite as spectacular as you may have hoped but it was pretty awkward at the time. Thankfully the audience warmed to my character, Donnie, that night although I still think the laugh I got as I ran back upstage is probably that loudest reaction I’ve had to date!

Not long after this we did have to stop the show to sort out the microphone issues so all I can say is thank you to the audience for being so patient with us and thank you to our sound crew who managed to get the problem sorted!

If you fancy being kept up to date with all my backstage events don’t forget you can follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

