I’m Back

shapeimage_1

If you follow me on Twitter you may have noticed that I haven’t been posting for the last three weeks or so. While some of you may have been glad to have a break from my inane chatter for a while, there were others who wanted to know why I temporarily shut up shop. To start I should say that, while there were a few events that eventually led to me taking a break from Twitter, there wasn’t any kind of scandal that resulted in me going away to sulk for a while. In fact, it was a much more calculated and thought out move than you might think. This move wasn’t exclusive to Twitter either. I’ve essentially been off all social networks for the last few weeks, but seeing as Twitter is my only public profile, that is what I’m relating this post to.

There are two main reasons that I decided to join Twitter almost a year and a half ago. The first was to see what all the fuss was about and whether I could use it as an advantage to promote my latest web series, Stars Of The Future. The second reason was because of the play I was in last year, Show Me The World. For those that never saw it, one of the traits of the character I played was that he spent all his time on the Internet, blogging, Tweeting and browsing through Facebook. Since social media was such an enormous part of the show, both in terms of the plot and the way we decided to promote the tour, it seemed silly not to join the rest of the cast on Twitter. It was also a fun experience to Tweet about the show from the very beginning of the rehearsal process, right through the run to the final performances at The Edinburgh Fringe Festival. After the run ended I decided to continue posting, mainly because it was fun to update my profile with the numerous cool things I found on the Internet.

When I joined the tour of Dreamboats And Petticoats, many of the cast were already on Twitter so of course it made sense to join them again. It was also a fun experience to tweet about my first national tour as it happened whilst seeing the tweets from my friends back home made it feel like I was still in the loop.

And so everything was fine until a few weeks ago when I suddenly lost interest. As I said before, there wasn’t a some life changing moment that made me quit, it was just a series of reasons that led me to believe that it might be best to take some time out. The first was that I’d been tweeting non-stop for over a year and I felt a little bit like I was repeating the same old stuff over and over again. I figured that by taking a break for a while it might rekindle my enthusiasm for when I came back and to a certain extent that has worked.

It was also partly to do with Dreamboats. Recently we’ve had a lot of weeks with extra rehearsals and understudies on at the same time. I’ve been up on the bandstand playing Andy more times in the last few weeks than I was for the whole of the last tour, which is by no means a bad thing. But with the ever changing feel of the show I didn’t really want anything else to worry about and again I decided it was best to take a break until things felt a little more stable.

This final point also comes with a bit of an announcement too, which is that I’m currently working on my new EP. It’s hardly groundbreaking news as I’m pretty sure I unofficially mentioned it on Twitter months ago, but here it is in writing on my website…EP 2 is coming. I have no idea when it’ll be finished and released but it’s most definitely starting to take shape. I’d like to think that it’ll be out by the end of this year but really I have no idea.

The reason this relates to my break from Twitter is just because I needed time to work on ideas and to record stuff. When I was recording ‘A New View’ I set myself two full months to work on the EP solidly. This time it’s not been as easy seeing as I’ve been on tour all year and haven’t had the luxury of being able to walk into a studio whenever I feel like it. This has meant that the only time I’m able to record during a week is on Sunday. Aside from the fact that I’m not massively keen on spending my one day at home in the studio, having the odd day here and there doesn’t work well when it comes to recording as I like to play around with ideas and spend time getting things right. These last few weeks I’ve been able to spend more time at home which has meant that I’ve got quite a bit of new material recorded and ready to be mixed. Not having the distraction of social networks has really drawn my focus back to making music for once.

So there you go, just a few simple reasons why I thought it would be best to take a break. Will I ever do it again? I don’t know, but if I feel like it’s the best thing to do at the time, then yes, I’ll take a break. For now I’m back although it may take me a while to find the balance between Tweeting and actually getting some work done for once!

Leave a Reply

