Eastbourne: Back From The Break

shapeimage_1-9

Hello again! The Dreamboats And Petticoats Tour is back from it’s mid-tour break and where better to kick off than Eastbourne. This was a particularly nice week for me seeing as I know the area quite well having spent pretty much every holiday there since the age of two. My parents also own a small house on the beach nearby so it really felt like more of an extension to the holiday. I’ve also seen a few shows at The Congress Theatre, our venue for the week, and I’m pretty sure the rest of the cast got sick of me constantly pointing out where in the auditorium I’d sat when Doctor Dolittle or Cats was in town.

After having a few weeks off to clear our heads it was nice seeing everyone and getting back into the routine. Our last sound check felt like it was years ago there were a few panicked moments before the show as people ran through scenes in their heads to make sure they hadn’t forgotten their lines. Of course the show went completely as planned and we all got back into the rhythm of the show straight away.

It was also nice to finally have a week without having an understudy on. Everyone was refreshed and back to their usual parts and the madness of our last few shows in Torquay were distant memories. That didn’t mean the week was without all challenges though. Because of coming back right after Easter we got the Bank Holiday Monday off. “Hooray for you,” you might be saying, “You only had to do a seven show week!” But of course that wasn’t the case. To make up for missing the show on Monday we instead had an extra show on the Thursday! Matinee days are pretty exhausting anyway. Anyone whose seen the show will see how much running around we all seem to do, especially in the last ten minutes, so after the first show you always have to remember to pace yourself for the second show of the day. This week once we’d finished our first show day we all went to bed, exhausted and with the knowledge that we had to do it all over again the next day! Of course we moan about it all week knowing full well that it could be much worse…I wonder how we’d react if we ended up in panto! Anyway, there’s nothing quite like a first busy week back to make the remaining weeks of the tour seem just that little bit easier.

Since it’s our first week back I don’t really have that much to talk about again…or maybe I’m just missing all the exciting stuff. Anyway, I expect that’ll all change with our impending trip to Luxembourg coming up followed by the end of the tour. It’s been really nice being in Eastbourne this week, seeing as it’s the closest thing I’ve had to a hometown on this tour. Also this week was the first time I’ve felt like a bit of a rockstar during the show, especially during the finale. That’s as surprising for me as I’m sure it is for you. It takes a lot to make me feel like a rockstar and Eastbourne was the last place I thought it was going to happen. Anyway, it’s been a great week and I’m looking forward rocking out in Derby now.

Let the Dreamboat roll on!

Leave a Reply

