Swansea: Presents, Illness and Transformers

shapeimage_1-5

It’s that time again, another week is over and the Dreamboats Tour rolls on. This week we’ve been rocking out every night in Swansea and enjoying the enthusiastic crowds in their odd theatre. Why is it odd?

Well the Swansea Grand is a modest stage, it’s not tiny but it’s by no way the biggest stage we’ve come across. However, a theatre is not made by how big it is or how many people it seats but what makes the Grand so odd is that it’s backstage is actually a lot bigger than the stage itself. I think this has been the narrowest stage we’ve been on so far and yet the space in the wings seems to stretch on for miles. I’m probably exaggerating but that’s the one thing I really remember of the theatre.

You may have noticed that I’m waffling and rambling on a lot more than I usually do and there’s a very good reason for that. It’s not that Swansea is unexciting and that nothing happened while we were there, but more the fault of me for not being there when the interesting stuff was happening. I think I mentioned in my last post how I was feeling ill towards the end of the week and annoyingly, when I thought I was over the worst of it, it got worse. Pretty much all this week I’ve had such a horrible cough that I haven’t been able to sing which of course has affected my performance. I’ve also had a nasty cold, or to call it by it’s official name: Man Flu.

I don’t know how much you know about playing the trumpet but I can say that I find it very difficult to play when I have a light headache. Playing when you’ve got a cold alongside dancing and trying to make an attempt at singing is like being dipped in and out of hell, face first, with a lump of brass attached to your mouth. Again I’m probably over-reacting but I can definitely say I haven’t felt my best this week. Thankfully I feel fine now although I am still trying to shake this cough. Luckily I’ve got my singing voice back now which means I can start pulling my weight again when it comes to backing vocals.

Of course because I’ve felt rubbish most of the week I haven’t been out and about all that much so I don’t really have all that much to say about Swansea. Sorry. Instead, I spent my time resting and watching the Transformers films…all three of them…in succession.

Apart from that I’ve not really done much else. I had a bit of a dilemma with a trumpet on the Friday night show. About halfway through the show it decided that it didn’t want to make noise anymore by letting one of the valves slip out of place. The result was me onstage, frantically trying to play, dance and screw my valves back into place all at the same time. Thankfully I got it sorted for the Saturday matinee but it did start playing up again in the evening so goodness knows what the solution is.

I did also get wrapped up as a present and delivered to the girls dressing room, for reasons which are still unknown to me. I was just standing there having a conversation with someone and before I knew it I was wrapped in wrapping paper and sealed in with a large amount of Mic Tape. The next thing I know I’m inside the girls dressing room being forced to Riverdance. If this had happened in a dream you’d think I was mad but this happened to me in reality. The only logical explanation is that my dressing room-mate, Mike Slader (or Mike Slater as I hear he likes to be known as) is mad himself. At least that would explain all the weird noises he makes.

Anyway I think I’ve done enough waffling for now. Who knows what Southampton will hold but I hope it will be a bit more eventful than this week has been. Also for those wondering about this weeks picture, it’s of a fountain in Swansea. For some reason they put red dye into the water which does make it look like a fountain full of blood but presumably it’s to keep the water clean. Anyway that’s not the point. The point is that it was the most interesting photo I took in Swansea…which pretty much sums up my week!

Leave a Reply

