Podcast Episode Two and Edinburgh Wrap Up

shapeimage_1-2

It’s been a long time coming but here it finally is! Episode Two of The Josef Pitura-Riley Podcast. Featuring my fellow cast members from Show Me The World, Alexandra Crawford, Chris Waller and Lui Palmer, it was recorded on our final day in Edinburgh just hours after our final performance. If you want to listen click HERE.

It doesn’t feel like it but whole month has passed since I got back from Edinburgh. Every production comes to an end at some point and Show Me The World has now had it’s final performance. Of course there are still a few loose ends to tie up.

Before the production moved up to Edinburgh we did manage to film the show in its entirety and so I’m currently working my way through the footage in order to edit the show together. However it’s worth saying that the film is more a record of the performance than anything else and I have no idea if it will ever be available publicly.

So what else has been taking up my time? Well, everything and nothing really. A few days after I came back from Edinburgh I had a few pretty big auditions. I can’t saw what they were for but I will say that it was great fun. I try not to think to much about auditions after they’ve happened, otherwise I end up hanging on for days whilst I wait for a decision to be made. Usually I try and distract myself with anything I can find. Right now, I’m distracting myself with all the TV I’ve missed over the Summer.

However, right now I’m in a situation that I’ve never been in before. In the past whenever I’ve come to the end of a project or production I’ve always known where I was going next. When I graduated from BRIT I knew that the next few months were going to be spent filming Stars Of The Future. When production finished on Stars Of The Future I went straight into rehearsals for The Human Comedy at The Young Vic and after that I started the workshop rehearsals for Show Me The World. But right now there is no plan. There is no next show and I don’t have any projects on the go. It hit me the other day that I may not be a student again, so I won’t have school to distract me. I didn’t really think about it last year because Show Me The World was such a long project that it felt like a school year.

This of course is very scary, but at the same time it’s quite nice. I have nothing to tie me down, no deadlines to meet. I’m essentially free. Obviously I’m not just going to sit around and wait for a job to fall out of the sky because, lets face it, that’s not going to happen. As I’ve mentioned I’ve already started auditioning for work and in addition to that I’ve got ideas for my own projects floating about at the back of my mind. I’ve got the luxury of being able to choose and carefully plan out my next project whatever it may be.

That doesn’t mean I’m going to disappear from view completely. I’ll still be ranting and rambling on Twitter and I’ll be cleaning up various bits and pieces of the website that need doing up. I’ve also neglected Dulwich Studios a bit over the past few months so there may be a few changes to be made there as well. I’ll be pottering about, planning my next move in this big old world and hopefully I’ll have some proper news for you soon. But for now, just enjoy the podcast.

Leave a Reply

